2016 Dakar Rally

MINI takes on the ultimate torture test.

Once again the end of the year means only a few days before the 2016 Dakar Rally. Kicking off on January 3rd, 12 MINI Countrymans will line up to take on the rough terrain in South America.

The Dakar is always known as the ultimate in rally raid racing, featuring motorcycles, cars and trucks. The event has a long and distinguished history with the first event in 1978 running from Paris to Dakar.

In recent years the MINI Countryman has dominated the Dakar, winning outright for the last four years.  Stéphane Peterhansel and his co-driver Jean-Paul Cottret have won twice in 2012 and 2013,  Nani Roma with co-driver Michel Périn won in 2014, and just one year ago Nasser Al-Attiyah and co-driver Matthieu Baumel won the 2015 Dakar.

Take a look at the 2016 route here to get an appreciation for the huge test of endurance that lays ahead of them. The event will start in Buenos Aires and pass through Argentina and Bolivia. The crews will get a much needed rest day on 10th Jan in Salta before continuing on to the finish line in Rosario on the 16th Jan.